Radon Action Month Webinar Addresses Canadians' Most Pressing Questions - Canadians Urged to Test Homes for Radon. It's Easy and Effective

Ad blocking detected

Thank you for visiting CanadianInsider.com. We have detected you cannot see ads being served on our site due to blocking. Unfortunately, due to the high cost of data, we cannot serve the requested page without the accompanied ads.

If you have installed ad-blocking software, please disable it (sometimes a complete uninstall is necessary). Private browsing Firefox users should be able to disable tracking protection while visiting our website. Visit Mozilla support for more information. If you do not believe you have any ad-blocking software on your browser, you may want to try another browser, computer or internet service provider. Alternatively, you may consider the following if you want an ad-free experience.

Canadian Insider Club
$299/ year*
Daily Morning INK newsletter
+3 months archive
Canadian Market INK weekly newsletter
+3 months archive
30 publication downloads per month from the PDF store
Top 20 Gold, Top 30 Energy, Top 40 Stock downloads from the PDF store
All benefits of basic registration
No 3rd party display ads
JOIN THE CLUB

* Price is subject to applicable taxes.

Paid subscriptions and memberships are auto-renewing unless cancelled (easily done via the Account Settings Membership Status page after logging in). Once cancelled, a subscription or membership will terminate at the end of the current term.

Radon Action Month Webinar Addresses Canadians' Most Pressing Questions - Canadians Urged to Test Homes for Radon. It's Easy and Effective

Canada NewsWire

MONTREAL, Oct. 29, 2020 /CNW/ - Radon is an odourless, tasteless, and colourless gas that is the leading cause of lung cancer in non-smokers.  With Canadians spending extra time at home this year because of COVID-19, and cooler weather settling in, it is more important than ever that all Canadians know what their home radon level is and ensure the air they breathe is healthy.

To mark Radon Action Month this November, Take Action on Radon, a national health initiative, is hosting an interactive webinar for Canadians with radon experts from Health Canada, Simon Fraser University, and the Canadian National Radon Proficiency Program on November 19, at 1 pm EST.  To register for this free webinar, visit TakeActionOnRadon.ca.

"When it comes to protecting your family's health and safety, testing for radon should be as automatic as installing a smoke detector or buckling your seatbelt," says Pam Warkentin, Executive Director of the Canadian Association of Radon Scientists and Technologists and Project Manager at Take Action on Radon. "Testing is so easy to do.  And if you receive high test results, mitigation systems are proven to be very effective."

In Canada, at least 7 percent of residents live in homes with radon concentrations above what Health Canada considers safe. 

"Radon is a bit like COVID-19. The only way to know if you have it is by testing," says Pierre Dubois who was recently diagnosed with lung cancer. "After testing, we discovered very high levels of radon. I wish I had known the risks 10 years ago when I bought the house. Now, my only hope is that my wife's health hasn't been compromised as well." 

Take Action on Radon is a national health initiative that works to bring together radon stakeholders and raise radon awareness across Canada.  It is led by the Canadian Association of Radon Scientists and Technologists (CARST), CAREX Canada, and the Canadian Cancer Society.

Canadians wishing to learn more about radon and how to protect their health are encouraged to visit www.TakeActiononRadon.ca and attend an interactive webinar with radon experts on November 19 at 2:30 pm NST; 2 pm AST; 1pm EST; noon CST; 11am MST; 10 am PST.

Link to pictures of radon test kits

SOURCE Take Action on Radon

Cision View original content: http://www.newswire.ca/en/releases/archive/October2020/29/c2716.html

Copyright CNW Group 2020

Comment On!

140
Upload limit is up to 1mb only
To post messages to your Socail Media account, you must first give authorization from the websites. Select the platform you wish to connect your account to CanadianInsider.com (via Easy Blurb).