Ad blocking detected

Thank you for visiting We have detected you cannot see ads being served on our site due to blocking. Unfortunately, due to the high cost of data, we cannot serve the requested page without the accompanied ads.

If you have installed ad-blocking software, please disable it (sometimes a complete uninstall is necessary). Private browsing Firefox users should be able to disable tracking protection while visiting our website. Visit Mozilla support for more information. If you do not believe you have any ad-blocking software on your browser, you may want to try another browser, computer or internet service provider. Alternatively, you may consider the following if you want an ad-free experience.

Canadian Insider Club
$299/ year*
Daily Morning INK newsletter
+3 months archive
Canadian Market INK weekly newsletter
+3 months archive
30 publication downloads per month from the PDF store
Top 20 Gold, Top 30 Energy, Top 40 Stock downloads from the PDF store
All benefits of basic registration
No 3rd party display ads

* Price is subject to applicable taxes.

Paid subscriptions and memberships are auto-renewing unless cancelled (easily done via the Account Settings Membership Status page after logging in). Once cancelled, a subscription or membership will terminate at the end of the current term.

EPRI Announces New Chair, Four Members to the Board of Directors

PALO ALTO, Calif., Aug. 14, 2019 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- The Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI) announced the appointment of a new chair and four members of the Board of Directors.

Pat Vincent-Collawn, Chairman, President and CEO of PNM Resources, is the new Chair of the Board as of July 2. She succeeds Pat Kampling, former Chairman and CEO of Alliant Energy Corporation in Madison, Wis., who served on the Board since 2014 and retired July 1.

Appointed to serve on the Board on April 5 are Michael W. Rencheck, President and CEO of Bruce Power in Ontario, Canada, and Pat O’Doherty, Chief Executive of the Electricity Supply Board (ESB) in Dublin, Ireland. Maria Pope, President and CEO of Portland General Electric, was appointed to serve as a director on August 14.  Each will serve a one-year term expiring in April 2020 and will be eligible to stand for election to a four-year term ending in April 2024.

In addition, Jeffrey J. Lyash, President and CEO, Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA), was designated on April 15 by TVA to fill its permanent seat on the Board.

Vincent-Collawn is CEO of PNM Resources, the parent company of utilities PNM in New Mexico and Texas New Mexico Power. She joined PNM Resources in 2007 as Utilities President overseeing daily operations. Prior to PNM Resources, Vincent-Collawn held executive positions at Xcel Energy.

Rencheck is President and CEO of Bruce Power in Canada. Bruce Power provides more than 30 percent of the electricity for Ontario, generating electricity from eight nuclear reactors and wind energy facilities. Prior to Bruce Power, Rencheck was Deputy Chief Operating Officer for AREVA Group overseeing a global portfolio of nuclear and renewable projects. He also served as President and CEO of AREVA Inc. in North America and held executive positions at AEP and Florida Power Corporation.

O’Doherty is CEO of ESB, where he has held several executive positions, including Executive Director ESB International, Executive Director of ESB Power Generation and Managing Director of ESB Networks. He is a Vice-President of Eurelectric, Director of Energy UK and Chair of the Apprenticeship Council of Ireland.

Pope is President and CEO for Portland General Electric (PGE). Previously, she served as Senior Vice President of Power Supply, Operations and Resource Strategy overseeing PGE’s energy supply portfolio of 15 thermal, hydro and wind generation plants and the long-term resource strategy. She joined PGE in 2009 as Senior Vice President of Finance, Chief Financial Officer and Treasurer. She serves on the Oregon Global Warming Commission and the boards of Umpqua Holdings Corporation and the Oregon Business Council.

Lyash is president and chief executive officer of the TVA. Appointed by the Board of Directors in February 2019, he leads the nation’s largest public utility in its mission of serving the people of the Tennessee Valley. Before coming to TVA, Lyash served since 2015 as President and CEO of Ontario Power Generation Inc., one of the largest electricity generating companies in Canada with a diverse fleet of nuclear, hydroelectric, gas, biomass and renewable generating stations.

"These directors bring to our Board wide-ranging industry backgrounds with keen insights for addressing the electricity sector’s important and diverse challenges," said Michael W. Howard, EPRI President and Chief Executive Officer. "Their deep industry experience and broad perspectives will help us to fulfill our mission to serve the public benefit."

About EPRI

The Electric Power Research Institute, Inc. (EPRI, conducts research and development relating to the generation, delivery and use of electricity for the benefit of the public. An independent, nonprofit organization, EPRI brings together its scientists and engineers as well as experts from academia and industry to help address challenges in electricity, including reliability, efficiency, affordability, health, safety and the environment. EPRI members represent 90% of the electricity generated and delivered in the United States with international participation extending to 40 countries. EPRI’s principal offices and laboratories are located in Palo Alto, Calif.; Charlotte, N.C.; Knoxville, Tenn.; Dallas, Texas; Lenox, Mass.; and Washington, D.C.

Clay Perry
Electric Power Research Institute

Comment On!

Upload limit is up to 1mb only
To post messages to your Socail Media account, you must first give authorization from the websites. Select the platform you wish to connect your account to (via Easy Blurb).